Home Studio is up!

Over the long weekend this past weekend, I had the time to finish the repair on my studio monitor and set up my home recording studio.

The studio monitor repair went well – I ordered the part (a 6500 microfarad, 25 volt capacitor) from Mouser Electronics.  It arrived 2 days after I ordered it (the part was $2.02, and the shipping was about $4.50).  I soldered it into the circuit board, re-assembled the speaker, and tried it out.  No more humming and crackling!  Sounds good as new.

New cap in place

Once I had the speaker working again, I installed my new DAW software: Cakewalk Sonar X1 Producer.  It was a 16GB download that took all of last week to fully pull down and get into my machine.  But now it is installed and working.  I set up my system and my synth (Roland Fantom Xa) in a corner of my room and set it all up… and it’s up and working now!

Home stuido

Since I’ve had it set up, I haven’t had much time to devote to any music work yet.  I started slicing out some clips from Never to send to some guys who will be doing a remix.  I laid down a few bars of a piece I’ve had brewing in my mind for a couple of decades, just to get started with something… but that’s about it.