Semantics R Us

On second thought…

I wanted to write on this blog a “diary of a startup”… but what I had in mind wasn’t really a diary of a startup.  What I had in mind was just to write about interesting technical challenges and solutions I’ve done while we are building this startup, and possibly some non-technical stories or observations in that realm as well.

Well, I’ve decided I don’t really want to do that.

There are several reasons for this.  The main one is that once I’ve set up the expectation that I’ll write about some particular topics, then I feel the pressure to deliver.  I don’t want pressure to write a blog – I want to just write what I feel like writing when I feel like writing it.  And, I want to just write about whatever I find interesting right now… not what I found interesting 3 months or 3 years ago.  Besides, the number of people that would be interested in reading those kinds of posts is pretty small, and they probably don’t read this blog anyway.  Also, detailing out an interesting software design or coding solution feels more like writing documentation than writing for fun.

Another reason is that a lot of the interesting things we did and do might be considered proprietary, trade secret, or might prematurely publicize company information.  I don’t want to have to worry about that.

However, this doesn’t mean that I can’t or won’t possibly write about those topics when I feel like it!  Also, if I have a reader that is interested in a particular topic, I’m much more likely to write about it… so suggestions/questions/interest is welcome.

Right now, what I find most “interesting” is what I’m doing outside of work with creating music.  I’ve created a category in this blog for posts about what I’m doing there, as well as a top-level menu for that category.  So for the time being, that’s probably more of what you’ll see from me here in this blog.  But there will be posts from the work-front as well… I like to crow about accomplishments!

So now… onward!

 

September 8, 2011 - Posted by | Software Development

1 Comment »

  1. Looking forward to read the diary one day! May be we will all have one by then :-)

    Comment by Safir | September 9, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

